Four Eagle Award

SAVE THE DATE, Friday May 10, 2024, 6:00 p.m., as the best kept secret & value on Clevleand's social scene is back as our Parish again offers its highest honor -- The Four Eagles' Award -- for outstanding service to our Church, School, and Community. Tremont City Side Ballroom will again be our venue featuring outstanding food, drink, entertainment, and auctions.  Watch the bulletin & mail for more info.  Can't wait?  Call our parish office for more details at (216) 341-9091.  2024 Honoree to be announced soon, see you there!

Since 2003, the Shrine Church of St. Stanislaus has celebrated our Patron Saint by hosting an annual awards banquet, called the "Four Eagle Award" ("Nagroda Czterech Orłów"). The award is given to an individual or organization that has been especially noteworthy in building up the greater Saint Stanislaus community.  It is important to remember that parishioners are not alone in sustaining our parish!

Past honorees have been:Four Eagles Award

2003      Ben Stefanski, II
2004      Sisters of the Holy Family of Nazareth
2005      Jane Campbell, former Mayor, City of Cleveland
2006      Franciscan Friars
             - The Province of The Most Sacred Heart of Jesus
             - The Province of The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
2007      The Cleveland Police Department, 3rd District
2008      Anthony Brancatelli, Councilman Ward 12, City of Cleveland
             and Edward W. Rybka, Jr., Director of Building & Housing ,City of Cleveland
2009      Bican Brothers, Fortuna, Golubski, Komorowski & Mosinski Funeral Homes
2010      Rich DiGeronimo, for the DiGeronimo family, Precision Environmental and Independence Excavating, and

              Mel Kurtz, for the Kurtz family, Kurtz Brothers, Incorporated
2011      Bishop Anthony M. Pilla, retired Bishop of the Diocese of Cleveland
2012      Alfred Geis, Owner, Geis Companies & Katherine Geis, Founder and President, Geis Companies
2013      St. Stanislaus Alumni Association
2014      His Eminence, Stanisław Kardynał Dziwisz of Kraków, Archbishop of Krakow, Poland

2015      Third Federal Foundation

2016      Eugenia Stolarczyk, host of the Polish radio program and active leader in Cleveland Polonia

2017      The Honorable Judge Raymond Pianka, Judge of the Cleveland Housing Court (posthumously)

2018      Bishop Roger Gries, OSB - Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus of the Diocese of Cleveland

2019      Elizabeth Dabrowski

2020      ---

2021      Bobby Vinton

2022      St. Stanislaus Golden Agers

2023      St. Stanislaus Dad's Club

2024      ?

Legend of the Four Eagles

St. Stanislaus WindowSt. Stanislaus is the patron saint of Poland. Born in Szczepanow near Krakow on July 26, 1030, he was ordained a priest after being educated in Poland and Paris. He became bishop of Krakow in 1072.  Stanislaus quickly became involved in the political situation of Poland. He aimed his attacks at the evils of the king, especially the unjust wars and immoral acts of King Boleslaus II, resulting in his excommunication of the king.  The king, enraged, ordered his soldiers to kill the bishop. When they refused, the king killed him with his own hands.  According to legend, the body of Stanislaus was dismembered after he was matyred, and four eagles came from different areas of Poland to protect his body.